Reflections From My True Self

Remembering Who I Really Am

Energetic Integrity

Leave a comment

Energetic Integrity is a concept that has interested me for years now. It is central to the coaching that I do, and to my life. I have come up with many ways to define it and describe it, sometimes finding those ways effective and precise, and sometimes not so much. I suppose energetic integrity is more a “felt” concept than a mental one. For me, it immediately sends energy shooting up my back, straightening my spine, making me stand taller and plant my feet more firmly on the ground.

Recently, I rediscovered Angeles Arrien’s description of the Four-Chambered Heart (in her book, The Fourfold Way), and it strikes me as another, effective demonstration of energetic integrity. She writes that emotional and spiritual health is achieved through a heart that is full, open, clear, and strong.  By that, she means that what I decide to do, I do full-hearted, with focused energy; what I allow into my energy field, I allow with an openness to it, without defensiveness or withholding; what I determine to do, I determine with clarity and a sense of alignment in all of my bodies; and where I take a stand, I do so with courage and strength.

When the four-chambered heart is full, open, clear and strong, I am achieving energetic integrity: there is no leaking energy pulling me away from what I am focusing on because my heart is not in it; there is no energy draining because I am entertaining people or situations that are harmful to me or require me to protect myself excessively; there is no energy draining because I am not rushing into things or “making” things work for me; there is no energy draining because I am facing my fear and using its lessons to strengthen me.

Every day, I strive for energetic integrity. And each day I find that I have learned something I didn’t know the day before, my abilities have increased since yesterday. And each day, too, I find that I am challenged in a new way, that I am called to grow a little more.

Photo credit: Zela (Marja Flick-Buijs) at RGBStock.com

Photo credit: Zela (Marja Flick-Buijs) at RGBStock.com

What are you thinking?