Reflections From My True Self

Remembering Who I Really Am

A Question

4 Comments

There is a quietude that I draw around myself, a stillness that makes the breath I draw in crisp as morning air, it sharpens my inner senses and softens the ridges of my heart. Sometimes I think of entering that quietude as entering a room, only it is a breathtaking red sandstone canyon with powerful waters running through it, and sunlight and shadows dancing on its hidden walls. Each time I enter that canyon, I find myself in a familiar, but slightly different place. I can see a wisp of cloud in the pocket of sky, or I am looking down at the waters from a very high place. And each time, I throw out the question that echoes down the corridors of rock and into all the hidden caves I have never visited: What is wanting to emerge through me?

I wait then, with curiosity, looking around me to see what will present itself. Sometimes, usually, the waiting is brief, as if I were late in bringing the question, the answers already gathered and impatient. But sometimes the waiting is long and empty and I wonder if anything at all will rise into my consciousness.

But even the silence and the lack of response is an answer. And, more often, an energy, an image or feeling will come to me. Invariably, it is surprising, not the form or content I would expect. And, invariably, it is also familiar, for some element of it was already present to me, at the edge of my consciousness.

Today, what emerges as a response is: A Question. Being a question, holding a question. It is unfathomable to me, and yet, I recognize it as its own entity, its own energy making itself known to me, birthing into form through me. And so, I move through my day viewing everything through a question, asking, how can a question be embodied? What can a question be? And so, I come to the page, to ask my Self here: how can I be a question?

And the answers come to me, through my left, non-dominant hand: I am always a question, I need  never take for granted what I am, what I know of my Self of the world. Question: What aspect of my Self  seeks expression today? Question: What part of my Self am I forgetting? Question: Whom am I not noticing, who needs something of my gift today? Question: What am I failing to notice of now?

Photo Credit: Mcnamara (Gustavo Garcia) at RGBStock.com

Photo Credit: Mcnamara (Gustavo Garcia) at RGBStock.com

 

Author: Andrea Friedmann

I am an intuitive Life Coach at VibrationsCoaching.com, helping women who feel stuck, lost, and stressed, in their business or their personal life, to reconnect to who they really are, so they can build a life they thrive in. My clients want to feel confident, energized, and excited by their life again! What makes me different is that I developed a process that combines coaching, spirituality, and energy work and, with it, my clients quickly get rid of anxiety, change the underlying, limiting beliefs that keep them stuck and stressed, and discover they have what they need to thrive!

4 thoughts on “A Question

  1. Beautiful…
    As as an Arizona girl, I loved the reference to the “red sandstone canyon”…
    as a kindred spirit, I adored the rest of this blog…
    Bravo 🙂

  2. I suppose without constantly asking questions, then our personal growth stays still.

    • I think you are probably right, Frances. I started to say that there are times when we are asking more questions, more consciously, but that there are times of growth that occur without so much previous questioning. But I didn’t respond with that because being stretched inevitably seems to lead to new questions! I’m with you: no questions, no growth.

What are you thinking?

