Reflections From My True Self

Remembering Who I Really Am

Nursed

6 Comments

I spent last night in a feverish sweat, fighting off some bug, and when I had a clear thought through the haze, all I thought about was Mommy, nursing me when I was sick as a child. She would bring her pyramid pillow to prop me up in bed, and open the tray with foldable legs in front of me, so I could drink chicken soup and eat toasted rice. When I had migraines, she would sit in the shadows of my bedroom, massaging my feet and hands, murmuring soft, healing encouragement, even though any other noise would cause me to throw up.

Hands down, the worst part of growing up is not having Mommy to nurse me through my illnesses, regardless of how attentive and capable Brujo is, or anyone else who has tended to me, for that matter. Mommy’s hands are healing, not just because she is Mommy, but in my case, especially because she is.

I am feeling better now, and grateful. Grateful, for all those times Mommy knew what would comfort me, even before I did.

©Jazza (Jay Simmons) at RGBStock.com

©Jazza (Jay Simmons) at RGBStock.com

Author: Andrea Friedmann

I am an intuitive Life Coach at VibrationsCoaching.com, helping women who feel stuck, lost, and stressed, in their business or their personal life, to reconnect to who they really are, so they can build a life they thrive in. My clients want to feel confident, energized, and excited by their life again! What makes me different is that I developed a process that combines coaching, spirituality, and energy work and, with it, my clients quickly get rid of anxiety, change the underlying, limiting beliefs that keep them stuck and stressed, and discover they have what they need to thrive!

6 thoughts on “Nursed

  1. Me haces llorar… ahora nosotras somos las mamis

  2. I too had a night of vomiting and diarrhea and feel very physically week however I am blessed that I have Shakti here to hold the space of care. I noticed in hindsight that I am very independent and find it difficult to receive care however in this event I had to surrender as my bodies actions were uncontrollable.

    I felt nursed from my beloved Shakti and I remembered that my mother would hold that space similarly and it felt comforting. I also noticed that the virus which entered my body was violently rejected by my body and this has weakened my recovery. A tough way to loose weight I must say 😉

    Thanks for sharing,

    Love and Light …. Satyam

    • I hope you are feeling better! I understand where that independent feeling can come from, but I really prefer to be tended to. It doesn’t help when Brujo pulled his back and needs nursing, too! I’m better, though, for all the Mommy care I was remembering and yearning for. And I am feeling really grateful that it’s been over a decade since I had my last migraine!
      Feel better, and lose your weight in the healthiest way, if you need to.

  3. I was thinking the same thing when experiencing the flu the past few day…hope you are feeling better as well =)

What are you thinking?

