Reflections From My True Self

Remembering Who I Really Am

Language Fails Us

4 Comments

There is a part of me, or perhaps it is a place, that is timeless and holds wisdom beyond my years. In it, some truths are stark, clear, indisputable. Like the truth that this life that I am living is a privilege, and, but a blink of an eye in the continuum that I am. Like the truth that I am a clear drop of water in an enormous ocean that ebbs and flows.

I yearn to share this with my children, this place, this part that I know they hold as well. Their awareness of it, it seems to me, could serve as a compass on their journeys.

But when I speak of it, my daughter says, “I am not like you, mama.  I am empty inside.”

And, so, this language fails us.

She feels empty, but I know that this part, this place… each of us has it.

I am at a loss.

So, I take her to a sunlit beach to listen to the lake’s waves. I take her to a denuded winter forest, to wade through fallen leaves. I show her, in our bare backyard, a black-capped chickadee with fluffed-out feathers. And, together, we look at the sky, stripped of clouds, with maple branches reaching for it.

When she says to me, “Let’s stop by the lake again, mama. Let’s walk through the leaves,”  I know she understands.

©Andrea Friedmann

Author: Andrea Friedmann

I am an intuitive Life Coach at VibrationsCoaching.com, helping women who feel stuck, lost, and stressed, in their business or their personal life, to reconnect to who they really are, so they can build a life they thrive in. My clients want to feel confident, energized, and excited by their life again! What makes me different is that I developed a process that combines coaching, spirituality, and energy work and, with it, my clients quickly get rid of anxiety, change the underlying, limiting beliefs that keep them stuck and stressed, and discover they have what they need to thrive!

4 thoughts on “Language Fails Us

  1. Your daughter has reminded that in every moment to remain empty is to be present and curious to what is now. She could be revealing what we all need to know about replaying the past which is full or remaining an empty vessel right now in the openness of what is.

    I love this sharing ….. thank you so much.

    Satyam

  2. Satyam, thank you for your comment, and for sharing this new perspective I had not formerly considered. I appreciate the view of the past as full and the present as an empty vessel to which we can be open for revelation. Thank you!

  3. Ah, yes, listening to the language of nature is important to disconnect oneselves from the drudgery of the day and “recharge” and remember who we are.

What are you thinking?

