Reflections From My True Self

Remembering Who I Really Am

Answer For My Daughter

8 Comments

Dear Daughter,

Yesterday, when you wanted me to be available to you and I asked you to wait as I finished taking some time for myself, you asked me why I always need so much time for myself. I wanted to give you a thoughtful answer, and this is it.

I love being a mother. I love being your mamá.

Being mamá, for me, means that in a big way I am always holding energy for you and for our family. It means that I am always aware and alert, prepared for what you, what our family, may need (and, sometimes, want) from me. This can be beautiful, but it can also be very tiring.

Besides, in our family, being mamá means having a lot of other tasks. You know some of them. I am usually the one who makes your meals, I make sure there is soap in the bathrooms. Others, you may not be aware of, like staying in touch with your teachers or coordinating our family’s activities, or helping build a community around you. These are just a very few of those tasks. There’s a lot of them, and, no matter how much I may enjoy them, there’s really no vacation from them, even when we are off somewhere fun and far away!

I love my role as mamá. But I am much more than that. And I need to take care of my whole Self. Taking care of my Self, for me, means doing what I feel I need to do so that my soul, my heart, my mind, and my body feel healthy, at peace, and joyful as I am doing everything I need to do as mamá, as a wife, as a worker, a friend, and all my other roles.

To take care of myself, I need silence and stillness every day. I need to give thanks and pray. I need to be aware of my own energy, to allow my thoughts, ideas, my dreams to surface. I need to give myself time, to tell the little girl that lives inside me, that is part of me, that she is important and deserves my attention, too. She needs me to be creative, to embroider and make things up. I need to be alone in Nature, to listen to the Wind and feel the Earth. I need to read books that engage me, and do exercise. I need to connect with the people I love, one on one. All of that, and even more, is what I need to care for my Self.

I want you to see me fulfilling my needs so that, as you and your brother grow, you have great clarity and courage to care for your Self well, in all the ways that you need, regardless of whether someone tries to make you feel it is indulgent or selfish, so that you can feel joy and peace in the life you are building.

I need so much time for me because I love myself so much and because I love you so much. I do it, first, for myself, and second, for you. May you, too, care very, very well for your Self.

I love you, my heart, you are precious to me, always,

Mamá

©Sanja Gjenero at RGBStock.com

Author: Andrea Friedmann

I am an intuitive Life Coach at VibrationsCoaching.com, helping women who feel stuck, lost, and stressed, in their business or their personal life, to reconnect to who they really are, so they can build a life they thrive in. My clients want to feel confident, energized, and excited by their life again! What makes me different is that I developed a process that combines coaching, spirituality, and energy work and, with it, my clients quickly get rid of anxiety, change the underlying, limiting beliefs that keep them stuck and stressed, and discover they have what they need to thrive!

8 thoughts on “Answer For My Daughter

  1. This is tear-producing in the best way . . . so beautiful and deep and a gift beyond words. Thank you, Andrea! And to Amanda for inspiring this articulation. much much love to all there, Amy

  2. Thank you I just read this and I can relate I have three girls who need to have that point of view and you are right it comes from me and what reflects back to them on how I take care of myself.

    • Hi, Blondie31! I really do believe that children learn more from what we do than what we say, but sometimes it doesn’t hurt to spell it out for them, which is why I didn’t just answer my daughter verbally. I think I also write this for myself, because there are days when I find it hard to remember that taking care of myself is a priority, too, and that I am always modeling behavior for my kids. Thanks for stopping by and following this blog!

  3. Andrea Dearest, I know deep in my heart that there is no distance between connected soul. A week ago, today, I’ve tried to explain the same thing to a friend who has no child and asked the same question. She said we should be able to give to our children without putting ourselves before them. And here is the most beautiful answer. I am ever grateful for your awareness and sharing this beautiful letter with the world. You have spoken my heart…many mothers’ hearts into words. I humbly embrace it with love. And to Amanda and every little girl who are the inspirations in our lives, thank you. You help us connect with our Self, you, the world and The Universe. I love you.

    • Oh, Rose, what a beautiful synchronicity! I am grateful for your loving words, for the connection between our souls and with All, and also for the children that teach us and help us grow. Thank you for writing this, Rose. I, too, feel such love for you!

  4. Andrea, loved this. I shared it on my personal facebook page…while having a fresh cup of coffee 🙂

What are you thinking?

