Reflections From My True Self

Remembering Who I Really Am

My Calling

4 Comments

My calling. It’s been beckoning, across the years and the decades. And I, I have listened for it, sometimes attentively, sometimes distractedly. Sometimes intentionally, sometimes resisting, I have followed its echo through darkened forests of heavy undergrowth, have felt it push me through tight spots that open into sunlit vistas, its energy giving me momentum to jump across canyons.

I have been faithful to it, across the canyons of time and geography. I have been true, as true as my courage and determination have allowed (which are, admittedly, not unflagging).

After all these years of listening, answering, following, I would think I would have grasped it already, I would predict I would have reached it with a victorious celebration! At the least, I would expect it to have faded slowly to nothing.

But time has only made it stronger. And, lately, it is a command, issued in the imperative.

I can only respond. I want only to respond.

Although I name it “a calling,” although that is a noun, my Calling is a verb, in continuous movement, never attainable, achievable, finished.

And I give thanks for that, for the magnificent white waters it will compel me to navigate, and the shiny mountaintop lakes it will coax me to climb to. I give thanks for all that I will see and learn, that I would never even aspire to, but for my Calling.

Mountaintop Lake in El Cocuy, Colombia, Photo by Santiago Giraldo

Author: Andrea Friedmann

I am an intuitive Life Coach at VibrationsCoaching.com, helping women who feel stuck, lost, and stressed, in their business or their personal life, to reconnect to who they really are, so they can build a life they thrive in. My clients want to feel confident, energized, and excited by their life again! What makes me different is that I developed a process that combines coaching, spirituality, and energy work and, with it, my clients quickly get rid of anxiety, change the underlying, limiting beliefs that keep them stuck and stressed, and discover they have what they need to thrive!

4 thoughts on “My Calling

  1. When you become aware of the transience of all forms, our attachments to them lessen and we misidentify from them to some extent. Being detached does not mean that we cannot enjoy the good that the world has to offer. In fact, we enjoy it more. Once we see and accept the transience of all things and inevitability of change, we allow ourselves the pleasures of the world while they last without any fear of loss or any anxiety about a perceived future. When we remember to be detached, we gain a higher view from which to view the events in our lives instead of being “trapped” inside them.

    Blessings … Satyam

  2. Satyam, thank you for your comment. You remind me that there is no need to be attached, even to the calling itself. My experience is that even when I feel completely passive and disconnected, I am compelled, pulled… that verb is “done to me.” If that makes any sense. It’s good to “see” you here!

  3. New Zealand Grants a River the Rights of Personhood

    Read more: http://www.care2.com/causes/new-zealand-grants-a-river-the-rights-of-personhood.html#ixzz26MDIO1P2

    I believe you will find this article very interesting.

    Blessings …. Satyam

  4. Wow, Satyam, that’s fascinating! Thank you for calling my attention to the article. ” It harkens back to a time when mankind’s fate was more readily acknowledged as being intertwined with that of the rivers, lakes, and streams that sustained us — a time in which our purer instincts towards preserving nature needn’t be dictated by legislation.”

What are you thinking?

