Reflections From My True Self

Remembering Who I Really Am

Love is Not Just For Girls

3 Comments

All afternoon Chiqui has been asking for hugs, sidling up to me and rubbing my arm, whispering: “you are the softest, nicest mamá” to me. I don’t ask why he’s more demonstrative than usual, I just hug back.

Finally, after dinner, while we wait for Golondrina, he snuggles up to me on the couch and says,“You know, I think the boys at school are afraid to talk about love. They never say they love their mamás. They write Valentines to each other that, instead of saying love, say “kill yourself.” They think love is just for girls.”

I feel so sad inside. For the boys he is talking about, for Chiqui, for all of us.

“What do you think?” I ask.

“I think love is for everyone. I love you mamá.”

Later, when he lies down for bed, Chiqui welcomes my goodnight visit with literally open arms. I hold him against my chest and we talk some more about love. We talk about Papá, how he thinks a lot about love and often tells Chiqui he loves him. I tell Chiqui I feel sad that little boys and grown men, full of love, who ARE love, should feel they can’t let anyone know that.

“I can help them,” Chiqui says, with no sliver of doubt.

I whisper my question, “How?”

“By talking about love, playing with the girls and the boys.”

And I think out loud: By being your bright and beautiful self.

Author: Andrea Friedmann

I am an intuitive Life Coach at VibrationsCoaching.com, helping women who feel stuck, lost, and stressed, in their business or their personal life, to reconnect to who they really are, so they can build a life they thrive in. My clients want to feel confident, energized, and excited by their life again! What makes me different is that I developed a process that combines coaching, spirituality, and energy work and, with it, my clients quickly get rid of anxiety, change the underlying, limiting beliefs that keep them stuck and stressed, and discover they have what they need to thrive!

3 thoughts on “Love is Not Just For Girls

  1. Andrea, I always want to write a comment because I am so moved by the experiences you shared but as you know only sometimes do I follow-up with this action. Tonight, I couldn’t decide whether to save this posting in my folders labeled “essential” or “breathtaking.” This is so clearly both. : ) Thank you!!!

  2. Rather than feel sad for the others, who can learn from example, rejoice in the success of maintaining an environment that encourages love so fruitfully in your home!

  3. Thank you both. I am so grateful for that environment of love in our home, in the love that I receive on so many fronts, and in the courage people show in expressing love even when it feels scary. I still feel sad when I run across some disconnection like that which Chiqui mentioned, and when I think of the pressures he will face as he grows, but I am so grateful that I have so many reasons to rejoice, every day!

    I would be interested in reading if you would say, Mario, that what Chiqui was describing is somehow familiar to you!

What are you thinking?

