Reflections From My True Self

Remembering Who I Really Am

Self-forgiveness

2 Comments

For years now, I have been working on and advocating for forgiveness. I have been a witness in my own skin to the energetic drain of holding ill feelings towards another for something they did or failed to do to me. It’s been a while since I found myself holding a grudge.

Then, suddenly, I have come to realize I have been holding a grudge.  Against myself, for not living up to my own standards for myself, for not being the person I would like myself to be, for so many occasions when I shrunk to fit expectations, for avoiding conflict when it was necessary, and for creating it where it was harmful.  I have been deeply unforgiving with myself, more than I would ever be with any other being!!!!

I have done what was in my reach to remedy the damage I have done to others. But I have not forgiven myself.

I know now that I need to forgive myself. Today I forgive myself as I have forgiven others using this powerful visualization while tapping my Meridian Tapping points. It may take a few rounds, but it will end this harshness towards myself.

I quiet my mind and feel my heart soften and open. With closed eyes, in the space before me and bathed in soft light, I see myself as I have been when I have sinned against my Self.

I tap my Meridian tapping points and repeat:

“Andrea, I forgive you.

Andrea, I accept you as you are at each moment.

I acknowledge that you are always doing your best

and I honor your process of growth.

I honor your unfolding.

I forgive you, and I release you.

There is no unforgiveness between us.

I am free, you are free.

Between us is only harmony and peace.

All is well.“

Author: Andrea Friedmann

I am an intuitive Life Coach at VibrationsCoaching.com, helping women who feel stuck, lost, and stressed, in their business or their personal life, to reconnect to who they really are, so they can build a life they thrive in. My clients want to feel confident, energized, and excited by their life again! What makes me different is that I developed a process that combines coaching, spirituality, and energy work and, with it, my clients quickly get rid of anxiety, change the underlying, limiting beliefs that keep them stuck and stressed, and discover they have what they need to thrive!

2 thoughts on “Self-forgiveness

  1. As I sit here after having read your post I am struck by how universal an experience yours is.Unfortunately many of us fail to cultivate sufficient self-awareness to recognise when we are being too hard on ourselves.This has been a recurring theme in my own life.At one point actual personal motto was ,”Be forgiving of others and hard on yourself.” I was forced to really examine this when I noticed that I am always the one—and still am to an extent–who reached out to those who have aggrieved me. Strange but then I found the answer one day and it was quite simple: I really cannot control the behaviour of others just my own .Therefore it’s best to do what I feel is right regardless of the actions of others.Although it can be quite painful to be disappointed by those around you it is even moreso if you are not true to yourself.As Polonius said to his son Laertes in Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar, “To thine own self be true and it shall follow like night the day though canst not then be false to any man.”

  2. Martin, thank you so much for a thoughtful, intimate reply that invites dialogue!

    What you are saying about reaching out to those who have aggrieved you has been food for thought. For me the pressing issue is not to hold on to the negative feelings that muck up my energy and drag me down, to free myself to vibrate at higher frequencies. Reaching out, once I have done that, could be very healing and gift me with a new sense of harmony! Still, it is important to be careful with this, to show respect for myself and avoid putting myself in situations that are not healthy. That I forgive a wrongdoing does not mean that I condone it, or that I can allow it to occur again (in any form).

What are you thinking?

